American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM) Annual Awards

AACPDM offers several awards each year to honor the accomplishments of the outstanding members who make up our growing Academy. These awards are an opportunity to formally and publically recognize professionals who have made a significant contribution to the field of developmental medicine.

Active AACPDM members in good standing are encouraged to apply or nominate a fellow member for the following annual awards: 

AACPDM/UCP Transformative Practice Award

The intent of the Transformative Practice Award is to enhance the capacity of service providers to apply evidence-based clinical strategies/service delivery approaches into practice. Funding is available to support AACPDM members in implementing evidence-based interventions into practice. The award requires pairing with an expert AACPDM member who has direct experience with the proposed intervention/service delivery approach.

Mentorship Award

The Mentorship Award recognizes an individual who is an active member of the AACPDM and who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in mentoring trainees and colleagues in the field of childhood-onset disabilities. 

Corbett Ryan Pathways Pioneer Award

Nominees should be persons representing excellence while pursuing their interests, dreams, and a high quality of life who also live with personal physical challenges.

Fred P. Sage Award

The Fred P. Sage Award is given to the best multimedia submission presenting clinical, research, or educational material in a digital format. The Award is named after Fred P. Sage, MD, past president (1981) and Chairman of the A/V Committee of the AACPDM.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented to a special presidential guest lecturer selected by the First Vice President.

Duncan Wyeth Award

This award is presented to an individual who demonstrates outstanding participation in or promotion of sports and recreation and serves as a role model for people with disabilities.

The following awards are associated with an Annual Meeting abstract submission and are determined at the time of the Annual Meeting:

Gayle G. Arnold Award

The Gayle G. Arnold Award is the most prestigious award of the Academy. The award is presented annually to the authors of the best scientific paper. 

Southern Family Cerebral Palsy Center Best Adult Paper Award

Sponsored by The Southern Family Cerebral Palsy Center at Rady Children’s Hospital, this award is given to the highest-ranked free paper involving adult participants with CP or other childhood-onset disabilities. 

Best Scientific Poster Award

The highest-scoring Scientific Poster abstracts are reviewed in their final poster form by the Awards Committee during the Annual Meeting.

Best Demonstration Poster Award

The top-rated Demonstration Posters are reviewed and voted on by the attendees at the Annual Meeting.

Promising Career Award

This award is given to an Academy member within four years of completion of training.  The winner is selected based on the Awards Committee rating of the presented work and is announced shortly after the Annual Meeting.

Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.