Contact:

Tamara Wagester, AACPDM Executive Director414.918.3014 or twagester@aacpdm.org

The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine Welcomes Robert Lane Wimberly, MD as New Director at Large

The AACPDM Board of Directors is excited to announce one of its newest Director at Large, Robert Lane Wimberly, MD.

Milwaukee, WI., September 1, 2023 – The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM) is pleased to announce Robert Lane Wimberly, MD as a 2023-2024 Director at Large.

Lesley Pritchard, PT, PhD, AACPDM President (2022-23) stated, "Lane's extensive knowledge and clinical experience and commitment to the AACPDM make him well-suited for the AACPDM Board of Directors. His dedication to the Academy and his field have prepared him for this leadership role, and the Academy is pleased to have him on board."

Dr. Robert Lane Wimberly is a Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Scottish Rite Hospital, at Children's Health, and at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas. He is the Medical Director of the Movement Science Laboratory helping to guide the clinical and research activities at two separate active motion analysis facilities. He is the orthopaedic surgery director of the Cerebral Palsy program at SRC and manages the multidisciplinary clinic with his colleagues.

Dr. Wimberly has been an active member of the AACPDM having served on the Scientific Program Committee (2021), the Nominating Committee (2020), and as a member and subsequent Chair of the Awards Committee (2018-current). He is also an active member of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery, the Orthopaedic Trauma Association, and the American Academy of Pediatrics.

ABOUT AACPDM:

The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM) is a group of more than 1,100 healthcare professionals committed to improving the health and quality of life for individuals with cerebral palsy and other childhood-onset disabilities. What sets AACPDM apart is the collaborative approach of its members, who work together to create a global network that delivers the best possible outcomes for patients. Among our members are pediatricians, neurologists, surgeons, physiatrists, therapists, nurses, special educators, engineers, and scientists.



PRESIDENT Lesley Pritchard PT, PhD University of Alberta Edmonton, AB

1ST VICE PRESIDENT M. Wade Shrader, MD Nemours A.I. duPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

2ND VICE PRESIDENT Laurie Glader, MD Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

TREASURER Joline Brandenburg, MD Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

SECRETARY Golda Milo-Manson, MHSc, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Holland Bloorview Children's Rehabilitation Hospital Toronto, ON

PAST PRESIDENT (2021-22) Tom F. Novacheck, MD Gillette Children's St. Paul, MN

PAST PRESIDENT (2020-21) Susan Sienko, PhD Shriners Children's Portland, OR

DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paige Church, MD Harvard Medical School Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Mary Jo Cooley Hidecker, PhD, CCC-A/SLP University of Kentucky Lexington KY

Bernadette T. Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT University of Wisconsin-Madison Madison, WI

Anna McCormick, MD, FRCP(C) Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) University of Ottawa Ottawa. Ontario

Nancy Murphy, MD University of Utah Health Sciences Center Salt Lake City, UT

Verónica Schiariti, MD MHSc PhD Division of Medical Sciences, University of Victoria Victoria, BC

Benjamin J. Shore MD MPH FRCSC Harvard Medical School Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Sruthi P. Thomas, MD, PhD Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children's Hospital Houston, TX The mission of the AACPDM is:

Empowering and supporting a collaborative multidisciplinary community that

- provides accessible and robust scientific education for health professionals and researchers
- fosters innovative research as well as its dissemination and implementation
- advocates for equitable access to evidence based and patient centered care

Learn more about our Academy by visiting <u>www.aacpdm.org</u>.

###



PRESIDENT Lesley Pritchard PT, PhD University of Alberta Edmonton, AB

1ST VICE PRESIDENT M. Wade Shrader, MD Nemours A.I. duPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

2ND VICE PRESIDENT Laurie Glader, MD Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

TREASURER Joline Brandenburg, MD Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

SECRETARY Golda Milo-Manson, MHSc, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Holland Bloorview Children's Rehabilitation Hospital Toronto, ON

PAST PRESIDENT (2021-22) Tom F. Novacheck, MD Gillette Children's St. Paul, MN

PAST PRESIDENT (2020-21) Susan Sienko, PhD Shriners Children's Portland, OR

DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paige Church, MD Harvard Medical School Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Mary Jo Cooley Hidecker, PhD, CCC-A/SLP University of Kentucky Lexington KY

Bernadette T. Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT University of Wisconsin-Madison Madison, WI

Anna McCormick, MD, FRCP(C) Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) University of Ottawa Ottawa, Ontario

Nancy Murphy, MD University of Utah Health Sciences Center Salt Lake City, UT

Verónica Schiariti, MD MHSc PhD Division of Medical Sciences, University of Victoria Victoria, BC

Benjamin J. Shore MD MPH FRCSC Harvard Medical School Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Sruthi P. Thomas, MD, PhD Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children's Hospital Houston, TX