Contact:

Tamara Wagester, AACPDM Executive Director 414.918.3014 or twagester@aacpdm.org

The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine Welcomes New Second Vice President

The AACPDM Board of Directors is excited to announce its newest Second Vice President, Theresa Sukal-Moulton, PT, DPT, PhD

Milwaukee, WI., September 1, 2023 - The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM) is pleased to announce, Theresa Sukal-Moulton, PT, DPT, PhD as the 2023-2024 Second Vice President.

Lesley Pritchard, PT, PhD, AACPDM President (2022-23) stated, "Theresa will be an excellent addition to the AACPDM Presidential Line. Her positive outlook on the forward direction for the Academy and the people with childhood onset disability we serve makes her an excellent selection to continue moving our organization forward."

Dr. Theresa Sukal-Moulton is an Assistant Professor at Northwestern University in the Department of Physical Therapy and Human Movement Sciences and the Department of Pediatrics. Dr. Moulton's current role at Northwestern includes education of approximately 95 Doctor of Physical Therapy students per year in the areas of neuroscience, technology, pediatric physical therapy, and mentored research projects. In her own research, she investigates the underlying neural mechanisms of selective motor control in children and young adults with cerebral palsy, as well as infants who are at high potential of a cerebral palsy diagnosis.

"I am honored to step into this new role as AACPDM Second Vice President. I look forward to working with my fellow members of the Board of Directors to serving our vibrant membership and supporting evidence based care of children and adults with cerebral palsy and other developmental disorders" stated Dr. Moulton.

Dr. Moulton has been an active member of AACDPM since 2005. In addition to regularly presenting at Annual Meetings, she served on the research committee from 2014-2018 (Chair in 2017). In 2017, she also served on the Nominating Committee and began as a working group lead for the NINDS Common Data Elements for Cerebral Palsy. She continues to serve on the oversight committee for this AACPDM and NIH effort (2017-present). Dr. Moulton served on the Board of Directors (2018-2021), was on the Scientific Review Committee (2017), and is a Scientific Co-Chair for the 2023 Annual Meeting.



PRESIDENT Lesley Pritchard PT, PhD University of Alberta Edmonton, AB

1ST VICE PRESIDENT M. Wade Shrader, MD Nemours A.I. duPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

2ND VICE PRESIDENT Laurie Glader, MD Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

TREASURER Joline Brandenburg, MD Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

SECRETARY Golda Milo-Manson, MHSc, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Holland Bloorview Children's Rehabilitation Hospital Toronto, ON

PAST PRESIDENT (2021-22) Tom F. Novacheck, MD Gillette Children's St. Paul, MN

PAST PRESIDENT (2020-21) Susan Sienko, PhD Shriners Children's Portland, OR

DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paige Church, MD Harvard Medical School Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Mary Jo Cooley Hidecker, PhD, CCC-A/SLP University of Kentucky Lexington KY

Bernadette T. Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT University of Wisconsin-Madison Madison, WI

Anna McCormick, MD, FRCP(C) Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) University of Ottawa Ottawa. Ontario

Nancy Murphy, MD University of Utah Health Sciences Center Salt Lake City, UT

Verónica Schiariti, MD MHSc PhD Division of Medical Sciences, University of Victoria Victoria, BC

Benjamin J. Shore MD MPH FRCSC Harvard Medical School Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Sruthi P. Thomas, MD, PhD Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children's Hospital Houston, TX

ABOUT AACPDM:

The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM) is a group of more than 1,100 healthcare professionals committed to improving the health and quality of life for individuals with cerebral palsy and other childhood-onset disabilities. What sets AACPDM apart is the collaborative approach of its members, who work together to create a global network that delivers the best possible outcomes for patients. Among our members are pediatricians, neurologists, surgeons, physiatrists, therapists, nurses, special educators, engineers, and scientists.

The mission of the AACPDM is:

Empowering and supporting a collaborative multidisciplinary community that

- provides accessible and robust scientific education for health professionals and researchers
- fosters innovative research as well as its dissemination and implementation
- advocates for equitable access to evidence based and patient centered care

Learn more about our Academy by visiting <u>www.aacpdm.org</u>.

###



PRESIDENT Lesley Pritchard PT, PhD University of Alberta Edmonton, AB

1ST VICE PRESIDENT M. Wade Shrader, MD Nemours A.I. duPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

2ND VICE PRESIDENT Laurie Glader, MD Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

TREASURER Joline Brandenburg, MD Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

SECRETARY Golda Milo-Manson, MHSc, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Holland Bloorview Children's Rehabilitation Hospital Toronto, ON

PAST PRESIDENT (2021-22) Tom F. Novacheck, MD Gillette Children's St. Paul, MN

PAST PRESIDENT (2020-21) Susan Sienko, PhD Shriners Children's Portland, OR

DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paige Church, MD Harvard Medical School Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Mary Jo Cooley Hidecker, PhD, CCC-A/SLP University of Kentucky Lexington KY

Bernadette T. Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT University of Wisconsin-Madison Madison, WI

Anna McCormick, MD, FRCP(C) Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) University of Ottawa Ottawa. Ontario

Nancy Murphy, MD University of Utah Health Sciences Center Salt Lake City, UT

Verónica Schiariti, MD MHSc PhD Division of Medical Sciences, University of Victoria Victoria, BC

Benjamin J. Shore MD MPH FRCSC Harvard Medical School Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Sruthi P. Thomas, MD, PhD Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children's Hospital Houston, TX