Contact:

Tamara Wagester, AACPDM Executive Director414.918.3014 or twagester@aacpdm.org

The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine Welcomes Laurie Glader as New First Vice President

The AACPDM Board of Directors is excited to announce its newest First Vice President, Laurie Glader, MD.

Milwaukee, WI., September 01, 2023 - The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM) is pleased to announce, Laurie Glader, MD as the 2023-2024 First Vice President.

Lesley Pritchard, PT, PhD, AACPDM President (2023-24) stated, "Laurie will do an outstanding job as chair of the organizing committee for the 2024 AACPDM Annual Meeting. She has a wealth of experience, connections both inside and outside of the organization, and is highly respected in her field. Her dedication and contributions to the Academy are greatly appreciated, and she will have a positive impact on the Academy in the years to come."

Dr. Laurie Glader is a Professor of pediatrics at The Ohio State University and focuses on the care of children with medical complexity. Since 2020, Dr. Glader has served as Section Chief of the Division of Complex Care and Medical Director of the Comprehensive Cerebral Palsy Program at Nationwide Children's Hospital. Prior to this she was on staff at Boston Children's Hospital for many years where she was Director of the Outpatient Complex Care Program and Co-Director of the Cerebral Palsy and Spasticity Center.

Dr. Glader stated, "Throughout my career, the AACPDM has been an essential part of my professional development. It has provided me with numerous opportunities to collaborate with colleagues from different disciplines and institutions around the world, which has been very rewarding. I feel immensely honored to assume the position of First Vice President of this extraordinary Society that is made up of diverse professionals who are passionate about providing care for children CP and other child-onset disabilities."

As the First Vice President, Dr. Glader will oversee the AACPDM Scientific Program Committee activities and planning the 2024 Annual Meeting. The AACPDM Annual Meeting provides a unique opportunity to bring together specialists from around the world and leaders in the field of childhood onset disability. Meeting attendance often includes over 1,200 professionals from various disciplines, including professionals from more than 53 countries across North and South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Australia.



PRESIDENT Lesley Pritchard PT, PhD University of Alberta Edmonton, AB

1ST VICE PRESIDENT M. Wade Shrader, MD Nemours A.I. duPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

2ND VICE PRESIDENT Laurie Glader, MD Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

TREASURER Joline Brandenburg, MD Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

SECRETARY Golda Milo-Manson, MHSc, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Holland Bloorview Children's Rehabilitation Hospital Toronto, ON

PAST PRESIDENT (2021-22) Tom F. Novacheck, MD Gillette Children's St. Paul, MN

PAST PRESIDENT (2020-21) Susan Sienko, PhD Shriners Children's Portland, OR

DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paige Church, MD Harvard Medical School Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Mary Jo Cooley Hidecker, PhD, CCC-A/SLP University of Kentucky Lexington KY

Bernadette T. Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT University of Wisconsin-Madison Madison, WI

Anna McCormick, MD, FRCP(C) Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) University of Ottawa Ottawa. Ontario

Nancy Murphy, MD University of Utah Health Sciences Center Salt Lake City, UT

Verónica Schiariti, MD MHSc PhD Division of Medical Sciences, University of Victoria Victoria, BC

Benjamin J. Shore MD MPH FRCSC Harvard Medical School Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Sruthi P. Thomas, MD, PhD Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children's Hospital Houston, TX Dr. Glader has been an active member of the AACPDM since 2004. She has served on several committees and taskforces, including Adapted Sports and Recreation (2004-2010, Chair 2006); Complex Care Committee (2012-17, Founding Chair 2012); Scientific Review Committee (2014, 2020), Nominating Committee (2020); and the Care Pathways Taskforce (2014-17). Dr. Glader served on the Board of Directors (2017-2020) and was a Scientific Co-Chair for the 2022 Annual Meeting.

ABOUT AACPDM:

The American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM) is a group of more than 1,100 healthcare professionals committed to improving the health and quality of life for individuals with cerebral palsy and other childhood-onset disabilities. What sets AACPDM apart is the collaborative approach of its members, who work together to create a global network that delivers the best possible outcomes for patients. Among our members are pediatricians, neurologists, surgeons, physiatrists, therapists, nurses, special educators, engineers, and scientists.

The mission of the AACPDM is:

Empowering and supporting a collaborative multidisciplinary community that

- provides accessible and robust scientific education for health professionals and researchers
- fosters innovative research as well as its dissemination and implementation
- advocates for equitable access to evidence based and patient centered care

Learn more about our Academy by visiting <u>www.aacpdm.org</u>.

###



PRESIDENT Lesley Pritchard PT, PhD University of Alberta Edmonton, AB

1ST VICE PRESIDENT M. Wade Shrader, MD Nemours A.I. duPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

2ND VICE PRESIDENT Laurie Glader, MD Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

TREASURER Joline Brandenburg, MD Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

SECRETARY Golda Milo-Manson, MHSc, MD, FRCPC University of Toronto Holland Bioorview Children's Rehabilitation Hospital Toronto, ON

PAST PRESIDENT (2021-22) Tom F. Novacheck, MD Gillette Children's St. Paul, MN

PAST PRESIDENT (2020-21) Susan Sienko, PhD Shriners Children's Portland, OR

DIRECTORS AT LARGE Paige Church, MD Harvard Medical School Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Mary Jo Cooley Hidecker, PhD, CCC-A/SLP University of Kentucky Lexington KY

Bernadette T. Gillick, PhD, MSPT, PT University of Wisconsin-Madison Madison, WI

Anna McCormick, MD, FRCP(C) Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) University of Ottawa Ottawa. Ontario

Nancy Murphy, MD University of Utah Health Sciences Center Salt Lake City, UT

Verónica Schiariti, MD MHSc PhD Division of Medical Sciences, University of Victoria Victoria, BC

Benjamin J. Shore MD MPH FRCSC Harvard Medical School Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA

Sruthi P. Thomas, MD, PhD Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children's Hospital Houston, TX